Helena Senators sweep Butte Miners

By Curt Synness, Helena Independent Record

The Helena Senators swept Butte in Class AA Legion baseball in Butte on Sunday, taking the first game 5-3, before winning the second 11-2.

In the opener, the Senators scored two runs in the third and three in the fourth.

Butte came back with three tallies in the sixth, but starting pitcher Kenny Wilson weathered the storm and shut the Miners out in the seventh for the win. Wilson struck out four and did not walk a man.

Quinn Summers took the loss.

Nick Wrigg was 2 for 3 for Helena, with a triple and an RBI. Teammates Carter Pappas and Danny Burton produced an RBI each. Ryan Moodry went 2 for 3 with a double and two RBIs for the Miners.

“Kenny pitched great, he had great command of both his curveball and fastball, and I felt we swung the bats well throughout the lineup,” Helena coach Dave Thennis said.

In the second half of the doubleheader, the Senators outhit the Mining City squad 12-4, led by Kienan Stief, who went 3 for 4 and scored twice. Ryan Dorvall, Burton, Wrigg and Henry Bowers all had two base knocks apiece. Burton and Dorvall both ripped doubles and posted a pair of RBIs each, and Jackson Maynard also drove in two runs.

Helena used three pitchers on the mound; starter Koby Griffin, who hurled four innings of 1-hit, shutout ball for the win, followed by Burton and Jacob Hatzenbuehler. Jared Haran was tabbed with the loss.

“Koby had a good start on the hill, and Danny and Hatz finished it up,” said the Senators skipper, whose club improves to 9-3 on the year. “We had lots of good stuff from many guys today.”

Helena Senators vs Butte Miners

Game 1

Helena 5, Butte 3

Helena 002 300 0 — 5 6 1
Butte 000 003 0 — 3 8 9

Kenny Wilson and Carter Pappas. Quinn Sommers, Koby Doherty (4) and Ryan Moodry. WP — Wilson. LP — Sommers. 2B — Nate LeProwse, Moodry. 3B — Nick Wrigg. RBI — Wrigg, Carter Pappas, Burton, Moodry 3.

Game 2

Helena 11, Butte 2

Helena 001 315 1 — 11 12 0
Butte 000 002 0 — 2 8 5

Koby Griffin, Danny Burton (5), and Jackson Maynard. Jared Haran, Zach Hart (4), Bryce Carver (6) and Nate LeProwse, Jeong Hoon Lim (7). WP — Griffin. LP — Haran. 2B — Burton, Dorvall. RBI — Burton 2, Dorvall 2, Maynard 2, Carter, Wrigg, Griffin, Konnor O’Neill 2.