Senators’ four-run 7th sinks Mavs

By the Helena Independent Record

The Helena Senators and Missoula Mavs were tied up at at Kindrick Legion Field on Tuesday night until the Senators exploded for four runs in the seventh inning and went on to secure a 7-3 Class AA Legion victory.

The Senators sent nine men to the plate in the seventh, with Reilly Leary, Nick Wrigg, Kienan Stief and Payton Pappas all connecting for singles. Pappas’ ball was misplayed by the outfielder, which cleared the bases. Jackson Thennis walked, Carter Pappas reached on an error and Kenny Wilson got aboard on a fielder’s choice.

Helena used three pitchers, with starter Koby Griffin working the first five innings. Ryan Dorvall relieved the next 3 1/3 scoreless frames, giving up five hits and striking out four. Dorvall earned the win, while Kenny Wilson got the final two outs for the save.

The hosts rapped out 12 hits, led by Nick Wrigg’s 3-for-5 effort, and Griffin and Payton (two RBIs) with two hits apiece. Carter also recorded a triple.

Travis Zander took the loss for the Mavs, whose top hitters were Jackson King, Ben Tabaracci and Zander. The Garden City crew committed seven errors, compared to just one miscue by the hosts.

“The difference was defense; they gave us some extra outs,” said coach Dave Thennis, whose Senators move to 3-0. “Koby had a solid start, and Ryan was good in long relief. All three guys pitched pretty darn well, and the defense made the plays behind them.

“Overall, it was a quality, competitive effort on our part.”

Box Score

Helena 7, Missoula 3

Missoula 012 000 000 – 3 11 7
Helena 110 001 4x – 7 12 1

Nick Yovetich (5), Travis Zander (2), Trev Cunningham (1); Koby Griffin (5), Ryan Dorvall (3.1), Kenny Wilson (.2). W – Dorvall, L – Zander, S – Wilson.

MISSOULA — Jackson King 2-4, Tyler Jewett 0-2, Nick Yovetich 0-2, Zanon Fulbright 0-4, Ben Tabaracci 2-3, Josh Tabor 1-4, Jakob Biereg 1-3, Jonathan Mitchell 1-4, Travis Zander 2-4, Kip Vetos 2-4.

HELENA (3-0) — Koby Griffin 2-3, Ryan Dorvall 0-2, Reilly Leary 1-4, Chase Rook 0-0, Nick Wrigg 3-5, Kienan Stief 1-5, Jackson Thennis 0-3, Payton Pappas 2-3, Carter Pappas 1-3, Kenny Wilson 1-4, Danny Burton 1-3.

2B — King, Tabaracci, Zander; 3B – C. Pappas; RBIs – P. Pappas 2, Thennis, Wilson, Jewett, Fulbright, Mitchell.