2016 Banquet

Senators hold awards banquet

By Curt Synness, Helena IR

The Helena Senators Legion baseball team held its annual postseason awards banquet on Tuesday at the Kleffner Ranch, and second baseman Colin Sassano walked away with an armful of hardware in the triplicate form.

Sassano received the Stanley Foote Award as the most improved player/rookie of the year, the Earl Tucker Award as team batting champion with a .386 average, and the Betty Cottingham Award as team MVP. The Cottingham citation entails citizenship, leadership and outstanding play.

Other recipients included Ryan Dorvall with the Ace Kindrick Pitching Award, which is based on a points system; Keinan Stief with the Dick Muffick Award as most competitive; and Jackson Maynard with the Zach Murfitt Award as most inspirational.

Coach Dave Thennis’ Senators finished the year with a 36-25 overall record and went 1-2 at the State Tournament.

Prior to the awards ceremony, the 2016 Senators Hall of Fame Class was recognized. The newest inductees include Earl Fred, Ken Leland, Frank Martello, Doug Anders and Kelley Horne.