skip navigation

Cloninger Classic

June 23-26, 2022
Cloninger Classic

The Cloninger Classic Tournament is set for June 23-26, 2022.

About the Tournament

The Helena Reps will be hosting the annual Legion Class A Lee Cloninger Classic at Kindrick Legion Field in Helena, MT from June 23-26, 2022.

The Cloninger Classic is named after longtime Helena American Legion baseball supporter and volunteer Lee Cloninger, who worked the ticket booth and concessions at Kindrick Legion Field for over 30 years.


  • Helena Reps
  • Bonneville Bees
  • Bozeman Bucks
  • Kalispell Lakers
  • Laurel Dodgers
  • Lethbridge Miners
  • Pocatello Razerbacks
  • Thunder Ridge Titans

Thursday, June 23

Time Third Base Dugout   First Base Dugout
10:00 AM Laurel Dodgers vs Bozeman Bucks
12:30 PM Pocatello Razorbacks vs Bozeman Bucks
3:00 PM Pocatello Razorbacks vs Kalispell Lakers
5:30 PM Bonneville Bees vs Thunder Ridge Titans
8:00 PM Helena Reps vs Thunder Ridge Titans

Friday, June 24

Time First Base Dugout   Third Base Dugout
10:00 AM Bozeman Bucks vs Kalispell Lakers
12:30 PM Laurel Dodgers vs Pocatello Razorbacks
3:00 PM Helena Reps vs Bonneville Bees
5:30 PM Helena Reps vs Lethbridge Miners
8:00 PM Thunder Ridge Titans vs Lethbridge Miners

Saturday, June 25

Time First Base Dugout   Third Base Dugout
10:00 AM Kalispell Lakers vs Laurel Dodgers
12:30 PM Lethbridge Miners vs Bonneville Bees
3:00 PM Red 3 vs Blue 3
5:30 PM (Semi 1) Blue 1 vs Red 2
8:00 PM (Semi 2) Red 1 vs Blue 2

Sunday, June 28

Time First Base Dugout   Third Base Dugout
9:00 AM Red 4 vs Blue 4
11:30 AM Red 3 vs Blue 4
2:00 PM Red 4 vs Blue 3
4:30 PM Loser Semi 1 vs Loser Semi 2
7:00 PM Winner Semi 1 vs Winner Semi 2


*Reps will play an extra game. If Reps are #7, another team can fill in or game won't be played

Tournament Rules


  1. American Legion Baseball rules will be followed unless noted below.  Coaches must wear helmets while coaching bases.  The National re-entry rule will be allowed.
  2. Games will be 7 innings unless extra innings are needed.
  3. Eight run rule applies after 5 innings.
  4. The time limit for each game is 2 hours and 15 minutes. Time will officially start with the first pitch of the game. In the case of a tie after the 2 hours and 15 minute limit, teams will go into a tie-breaker scenario. Each team will start the next inning with a runner on 2nd base and no outs. The runner will be the last batter from the previous inning. There will be no time limit or tie-breaker scenario in the championship game.  The official score keeper will keep track of time.
  5. Home team will be the team occupying the 3B dugout.  Dugout assignments will be listed on the schedule.
  6. Infield/outfield will only be allowed if time permits to keep the tournament on schedule.
  7. Ground rules will be explained during the pre-game coaches meeting.
  8. Courtesy runners are optional for the pitcher and catcher only.
  9. Teams will be seeded on Sunday for a 10th- 9th, 7th-8th game, 5th-6th game, 3rd-4th game, and the championship (1st-2nd).  The seeding criteria is as follows:
    • Overall record
    • Head to head record
    • Least runs allowed (total, not per inning)
    • Most runs scored (total, not per inning)
    • Coin flip if still tied
  10. The higher seed in Sunday games will be the home team, but the Reps will always occupy the 3rd base dugout.
For More Information:

Brenden McGuire
Helena Reps Head Coach