skip navigation
Colin Sassano

Senators hand out season-ending awards

By, 08/30/18, 11:30AM MDT


The Helena Senators celebrated their 2018 season that resulted in a trip to the state tournament in Kalispell. Coach Jon Burnett handed out several team awards at a banquet with Colin Sassano and Brett Jacobs coming away with the most awards.

Sassano, now a redshirt freshman football player at Carroll College, won the Betty Cottingham Award as the team MVP, voted on by the players. He was also named the Earl Tucker Batting Champ with a .456 average.

Sassano was also named the AA All-State third baseman.

Jacobs, who is headed to Williston State to play baseball, was named the Dick Muffick Most Competitive player and Zach Murfitt Award for most inspirational as voted on by his teammates. He also won the Ace Kindrick Award for pitching with a minimum of 45 innings pitched.

Junior outfielder Zach Spiroff took home the Stanley Foote Award for most improved. That too was voted on by the team.